CAEQ Structure

Located in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, the CAEQ has a 9-member Executive Board. It is also made up of an accreditation committee consisting of five experts and a staff who is trained to meet certification bodies' needs and requests.

Executive Board

The CAEQ Executive Board (the “Board”) oversees all the reference manuals, internal regulations, and policies that govern the organization’s activities. It reviews and adopts those documents. It also receives the reports and recommendations of the Accreditation Committee concerning the accreditation of certification bodies having joined some accreditation programs. It makes decisions about granting, extending and renewing the accreditation. It also decides whether the accreditation should be reduced, suspended or withdrawn in Quebec.

The Board is composed of members representing the various sectors of the agriculture and agro-food industry and sitting on the Conseil des appellations réservées et des termes valorisants (CARTV). The procedure leading to their appointment is provided for in article 12 of an Act Respecting Reserved Designations and Added-Value Claims. The information in parentheses gives the sector which nominated the individual.

The Board is comprised of members from the following groups:

  • Jean-Pierre Potelle (producers of products that contain alcohol);
  • André Michaud (certification bodies);
  • Christine Jean (processors);
  • Janick Boudreau (distributors);
  • Catherine St-Georges (producers);
  • Jean-Claude Dufour (appointed by Quebec government);
  • Pierre Alexandre Blouin (retailers);
  • François Décary (consumers);
  • Pascale Tremblay, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Accreditation Committee

The CAEQ’s recommendations to competent authorities are the result of decisions made by the Accreditation Committee, which is made up of the following individuals:

  • Danielle Brault, Chairwoman
  • Julie Fréchette
  • Stéphane Gagnon
  • Clémentine Gombart
  • François Décary (CARTV observer)

Impartiality Committee

Those external people of our organization contribute to maintain our impartiality and transparency :

  • Pascal Daigle
  • François Lambert
  • Arouna Wabi


The CAEQ’s Secretariat is made up of the following individuals:

  • Vincent Vilela, Accreditation Director
  • Naira Mkrtchyan, Quality Assurance Officer
  • Jeannine Okmeni, Conformity Evaluation Officer

Experts and consultants are convened as needed.

Naira, Vincent, Jeannine